Breast Cancer Network of WNY

About The Breast Cancer Network of WNY

In 1988, the Breast Cancer Network of WNY, also known as BCN, was founded by a group of breast cancer survivors that wanted to support and educate other survivors and their families. Since then, BCN has grown into a 501(c)(3) non-profit that provides a tremendous service to the Western New York community while remaining a mainly volunteer run operation.

What We Do

BCN is proud to offer programming, education and support to those impacted by breast cancer. The founders of BCN know exactly what it feels like to receive a diagnosis like breast cancer. Feeling like, “what do I do?” “who can help me figure this out?” is a feeling felt by far too many women. BCN is there to help answer those questions “from diagnosis through survivorship” as our tagline says.

In addition to helping those impacted by breast cancer from diagnosis through survivorship, we are also passionate about putting ourselves out of business. That’s right; we are committed to decreasing the number of women impacted by breast cancer each year so people won’t need our help!

We hope that through advocacy, education, prevention, and raising funds that can be donated to metastatic breast cancer research, we can be part of the solution. Know that when you partner with the Breast Cancer Network of Western New York , you are joining hundreds of local women who have traveled your path before you, you are supported by proven programs and professionals, and you are actively involved in the mission to take back your health and defeat breast cancer once and for all.

Our Vision

To provide programs and services to the breast cancer community from diagnosis through survivorship, and to contribute to the ultimate cure and demise of the disease.

Our Mission

Our mission is to support, educate, and advocate for individuals with breast cancer, breast cancer survivors and family and friend co-survivors. We are dedicated to ending breast cancer and the deaths it causes.

The Values that Drive What We Do

We are committed to the demise of breast cancer as a life threatening disease.

We will always be supportive to all members of the breast cancer community. Our members are never alone.

We offer a safe place for our community to empower themselves through learning and networking with professionals and peers.

We advocate for and expect fair and just treatment from the medical and insurance fields of all people afflicted with breast cancer.

We conduct our Network in a professional, cooperative, and nonjudgmental manner.

Join the fight. Volunteer, donate or contact us to learn more about ways you can help be part of the solution.

Meet the Board

Officers

Beverly Jasinski
President, bevj@bcnwny.org

Sylvia Root
Vice-President - Education, sylviar@bcnwny.org

Debbie Malarkey
Vice-President - Strategic, debbiem@bcnwny.org

Karen Scalia
Treasurer, karen@bcnwny.org

Alice Gray
Recording Secretary, aliceg@bcnwny.org

Rob Jones
Executive Director, rob@bcnwny.org

Marcia Heaney
Advocacy Chair, marciah@bcnwny.org

Committee Chairs

Judy Moskal, Volunteer Coordinator/Chair, judym@bcnwny.org

Linda Hendricks, Membership Chair, lindah@bcnwny.org

Pat Rogers, TLC Totes Chair, patr@bcnwny.org

Margaret Dix, Building Coordinator, margaretd@bcnwny.org